IEEE ICNP 2017 Workshop PVE-SDN

Approaches, Analyses, and Performance Issues in Virtualized Environments and Software Defined Networking

Co-located with the IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols (ICNP 2017), Toronto, Canada

October 10, 2017.

Technical Program

    • 08:50-09:00 – Opening Remarks



    • 10:00-10:40 – Technical Session 1: Control Plane Performance (Chair: Walter Cerroni)
      • Experimental Evaluation of Two OpenFlow Controllers
        Mohamad Darianian, Carey Williamson and Israat Haque
      • Comparing OpenFlow and NETCONF when Interconnecting Data Centers
        Thomas Kunz and Karpakamurthy Muthukumar


    • 10:40-11:10 – Break


    • 11:10-12:30 – Technical Session 2: Performance of SDN Components (Chair: Amir Sheikh)
      • An Empirical Model of Packet Processing Delay of the Open vSwitch
        Danish Sattar and Ashraf Matrawy
      • NF-Switch: VNFs-enabled SDN Switches for High Performance Service Function Chaining
        Cheng-Liang Hsieh and Ning Weng
      • A Customized and Cost-Efficient Backup Scheme in Software-Defined Networks
        Zhijie Zhu, Qing Li, Mingwei Xu, Ziyan Song and Shutao Xia
      • Distributed Mininet Placement Algorithm for Fat-Tree Topologies
        Philippos Isaia and Lin Guan


    • 12:30-14:00 – Lunch




    • 16:00-16:20 – Break


    • 16:20-17:00 – Technical Session 3: Applications of Network Virtualization and SDN (Chair: Khalid Adnan)
      • MDP Modeling of Resource Provisioning in Virtualized Content-Delivery Networks
        Aliasghar Haghighi, Shahram Shahbazpanahi and Shahram Shah Heydari
      • A Network-centric TCP for Interactive Video Delivery Networks (VDN)
        Md Islam and Javed Khan


  • 17:00-18:00 – GENI NICE Joint Panel
    • Hot Topics in Networking and their Testbed Requirements


Keynote Talks


Final Paper Submission Instructions


Call for Papers



General Co-Chairs:

Mohammad Asad Rehman Chaudhry, Soptimizer, Canada

Shahram S. Heydari, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Canada

Jinsong Wu, Universidad de Chile, Chile


Technical Co-Chairs:

Walter Cerroni, University of Bologna, Italy

David Malone, Hamilton Institute, Ireland

Adrian Popescu, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden

Hesham ElBakoury, FutureWei, Huawei, USA


Technical Program Committee:

Khalid Adnan, Verizon Wireless

Hassan Ahmed, Ryerson University

Zakia Asad, University of Toronto

Flavio Esposito, Saint Louis University

Grzegorz Jereczek, Intel

Muhammad Salman Khan, University of Manitoba

Mingming Liu, University College Dublin

Qusay Mahmoud, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Barbara Martini, National Consortium for Telecommunications (CNIT)

Müge Sayıt, International Computer Institute, Ege University

Amir Sheikh, Cox Communications

Wei Shi, Carleton University

Deepaknath Tandur, ABB

Kurt Tutschku, Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH)

Mohamed Faten Zhani, École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS), University of Quebec


Publicity Co-Chairs:

William Liu, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand

Zakia Asad, University of Toronto