Computer Society Standards Activities Board Standards Committee (C/SAB SC)

6 August 2024 teleconference

Revision 2 (approved version)





Participation reminders

- <u>IEEE Call for patents</u>
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- <u>IEEE SA Participation Slides</u>



Agenda

- Call to order and Participation reminder
- Approval of agenda and past meeting minutes
- 2024 deadline for submitting PARs
- Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Group
- New PAR proposals from Interfacing Cyber and Physical World Working Group
- Any other business
- Annex: 2024 Organization roster





Administrative motions

- Motion #1: To approve the agenda as presented on the previous slide.
 - Moved: Dennis Brophy
 - Seconded: Joe Levy
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent
- Motion #2: To approve the meeting minutes of the 9 April 2024 C/SAB SC as shown in the document https://ieee-sa.imeetcentral.com/p/aQAAAAAFG8jC.
 - Moved: Joe Levy
 - Seconded: Dennis Brophy
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent





2024 deadline for submitting PARs

SAB SC deadline	C/SAB SC meeting (9am to 11am ET, Tuesday)	NesCom deadline	NesCom meeting
19 January	6 February	9 February	19/20 March
5 March	26 March	26 March	6 May
5 April	9 April	26 April	4/5 June
26 July	6 August	16 August	24/25 September
28 August	17 September	18 September	29 October
30 September	8 October	21 October	9/10 December
TBD	17 December	TBD	TBD





Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Groups At a glance

- As of 26 July 2024, we have:
 - 15 Working Groups with active projects (excluding new PARs on NesCom agendas)
 - 26 active PARs (25 new PARs + 1 revision PARs)
 - 1 new PAR in SA ballot phase
 - 24 new and 1 revision PARs in draft development
 - 21 active published standards
 - Status spreadsheet (<u>2024/08/05</u>)





Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Groups 2024 PAR expiration (updated as of 26 July 2024)

- There are still 8 active PARs whose expiration date is 31 December 2024:
 - 1 PAR under recirculation SA ballot
 - P2888.3
 - 7 PARs under draft development
 - P1599, P2418.3, P2796.1, P2796.2, P2957, P3079.2, P7131





New PAR proposal #1 (1)

- P2888.1a: IEEE Standard for Specification of Sensor Interface for Cyber and Physical Worlds---Amendment 1: Binary representation of data formats for interfacing sensors and their capabilities
 - It is a request from Interfacing Cyber and Physical World Working Group Working Group.
 - Contents updated on 5 August 2024 in response to comments from selected C/SAB SC members.
- Motion 2024-010: Approve to forward the P2888.1a PAR documentation entitled "IEEE Standard for Specification of Sensor Interface for Cyber and Physical Worlds---Amendment 1: Binary representation of data formats for interfacing sensors and their capabilities" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Jon Rosdahl
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR proposal #1 (2)

- Motion 2024-012: Move to reconsider Motion 2024-010 "Approve to forward the P2888.1.1 PAR documentation entitled "Standard for binary representation of data formats for interfacing sensors and their capabilities" to IEEE SASB NesCom".
 - Move: Joe Levy
 - Second: Jon Rosdahl
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)
- Motion 2024-010: Approve to forward the P2888.1a PAR documentation entitled "Standard for binary representation of data formats for interfacing sensors and their capabilities" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Jon Rosdahl
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR proposal #2 (1)

- P2888.2a: IEEE Standard for Actuator Interface for Cyber and Physical Worlds---Amendment 1: Binary representation of data formats, application programming interfaces and definition of additional actuators
 - It is a request from Interfacing Cyber and Physical World Working Group Working Group.
 - Contents updated on 5 August 2024 in response to comments from selected C/SAB SC members.
- Motion 2024-011: Approve to forward the P2888.2a PAR documentation entitled "Standard for additional actuators and application programming interfaces for interfacing actuators" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Jon Rosdahl
 - Second: Joe Levy
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR proposal #2 (2)

- Motion 2024-013: Approve to forward the updated P2888.2a PAR documentation entitled "IEEE Standard for Actuator Interface for Cyber and Physical Worlds---Amendment 1: Binary representation of data formats, application programming interfaces and definition of additional actuators" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Jon Rosdahl
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR proposal #3

- P2888.5a: Standard for Virtual Training System Evaluation Methods---Amendment 1: Physiological evaluation method for virtual training systems It is a request from Interfacing Cyber and Physical World Working Group Working Group.
 - Contents updated on 5 August 2024 in response to comments from selected C/SAB SC members.
- Motion 2024-014: Approve to forward the P2888.5a PAR documentation entitled "Standard for Virtual Training System Evaluation Methods---Amendment 1: Physiological evaluation method for virtual training systems" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Joe Levy
 - Second: Dennis Brophy
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR proposal #4

- P2888.7: Standard on Architecture of a Digital Twin System for Carbon Emission Management
 - It is a request from Interfacing Cyber and Physical World Working Group Working Group.
 - Contents updated on 5 and 6 August 2024 in response to comments from selected C/SAB SC members.
- Motion 2024-015: Approve to forward the P2888.7 PAR documentation entitled "Standard on Architecture of a Digital Twin System for Carbon Emission Management" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Joe Levy
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





Any other business?

• None



Annex: 2024 Organization Roster

Position	Name	Employed	Affiliation
Acting Chair	Edward Au	Huawei Canada	Self
Vice Chair	Jon Rosdahl	Qualcomm	Qualcomm
Secretary and Treasurer	Vacant		
Members	Dennis Brophy	Siemens EDA	Siemens EDA
	Joe Levy	InterDigital	InterDigital
	Michael Montemurro	Huawei	Huawei
	Annette Reilly	Self	Self
Program Manager (Lead)	Jonathan Goldberg	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Program Manager (Projects)	Soo Kim	IEEE SA	IEEE SA



