Computer Society Standards Activities Board Standards Committee (C/SAB SC)

8 October 2024 teleconference – Minutes (draft)

Revision 0





Call to order and Participation reminder

- Chair called the meeting to order at 9:01am ET and presented the participation reminder, including the call for patents, SA copyright policy, and SA participation slide deck.
- Attendees
 - Edward Au SAB SC Chair
 - Annette Reilly SAB SC Member
 - Dennis Brophy SAB SC Member
 - Joseph Levy SAB SC Member
 - Mike Montemurro SAB SC Member
 - Jonathan Goldberg IEEE SA
 - Gang Li CESI
 - Ming Li Hong Kong Polytechnic University
 - Heyan Liu Haier
 - Yong Wang Haier
 - Kyoungro Yoon Konkuk University
- Quorum established with 5 members present





Participation reminders

- <u>IEEE Call for patents</u>
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Participation Slides



Agenda

- Call to order and Participation reminder
- Approval of agenda and past meeting minutes
- 2024 deadline for submitting PARs
- 2025 deadline for submitting PARs and tentative meeting schedules
- Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Group
- PAR withdrawal request from the Distributed Ledger Technology in Agriculture Working Group
- PAR extension request from the Big Data Governance and Metadata Management Working Group
- New PARs review
- Any other business
- Annex: 2024 Organization roster





Administrative motions

- Motion #1: To approve the agenda as presented on the previous slide.
 - Moved: Dennis Brophy
 - Seconded: Joe Levy
 - Discussion: None.
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent
- Motion #2: To approve the meeting minutes of the 17 September 2024 C/SAB SC as shown in the document https://ieee-sa.imeetcentral.com/p/aQAAAAAFJPlC
 - Moved: Dennis Brophy
 - Seconded: Joe Levy
 - Discussion: None.
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent





2024 deadline for submitting PARs

SAB SC deadline	C/SAB SC meeting (9am to 11am ET, Tuesday)	NesCom deadline	NesCom meeting
19 January	6 February	9 February	20 March
5 March	26 March	26 March	6 May
5 April	9 April	26 April	5 June
26 July	6 August	16 August	25 September
28 August	17 September	18 September	30 October
30 September	8 October	21 October	9 December





2025 deadline for submitting PARs and tentative meeting schedules

SAB SC deadline	C/SAB SC meeting (9am to 11am ET, Tuesday)	NesCom deadline	NesCom meeting
29 November 2024	17 December 2024 (confirmed)	20 December 2024	29 January 2025
24 January 2025	11 February 2025	14 February 2025	24-28 March 2025
7 March 2025	18 March 2025	28 March 2025	7 May 2025
18 April 2025	6 May 2025	9 May 2025	16-20 June 2025
10 July 2025	22 July 2025	31 July 2025	8-10 September 2025
22 August 2025	2 September 2025	12 September 2025	22 October 2025
29 September 2025	30 September 2025	20 October 2025	8-10 December 2025





Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Groups At a glance

- As of 5 October 2024, we have:
 - 14 Working Groups with active projects (excluding new PARs on NesCom agendas)
 - 29 active PARs (26 new PARs + 3 amendment PARs)
 - 1 new PAR in SA ballot phase
 - 25 new and 3 amendment PARs in draft development
 - 21 active published standards
 - Status spreadsheet (<u>2024/10/05</u>)





Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Groups 2024 PAR expiration (updated as of 4 October 2024)

- There are still 5 active PARs whose expiration date is 31 December 2024:
 - PAR extension request under NesCom review: P2796.1, P2796.2
 - PAR extension request under SC review: P2957
 - PAR expected to be withdrawn: P2418.3
 - PAR expected to be administratively withdrawn: P7131





P2418.3 PAR withdrawal

- <u>P2418.3</u>: Standard for the Framework of Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) Use in Agriculture
 - It is a request from the Distributed Ledger Technology in Agriculture Working Group.
- Motion 2024-021: Approve to forward the P2418.3 PAR withdrawal request to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Mike Montemurro
 - Discussion: None.
 - Result: Approved (5 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





P2957 PAR extension

- <u>P2957</u>: Standard for a Reference Architecture for Big Data Governance and Metadata Management
 - It is a request from the Big Data Governance and Metadata Management Working Group
- Motion 2024-022: Approve to forward the P2957 PAR extension request to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Joe Levy
 - Second: Mike Montemurro
 - Discussion: None.
 - Result: Approved (5 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR review (1)

- Guide for Enterprise Data Assets Assessment Model
 - <u>Draft PAR</u>; <u>Supporting slide deck</u>; Response to offline review comments: <u>Part 1</u>, <u>Part 2</u>
 - It is a request from an entity.
- Motion 2024-023: Approve to forward the new PAR documentation entitled "Guide for Enterprise Data Assets Assessment Model" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Mike Montemurro
 - Second: Joe Levy
 - Discussion: None.
 - Result: Approved (5 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





New PAR review (2)

- Standard for Data Service Capability Evaluation Models
 - Draft PAR
 - It is a request from an entity.
 - Further refinement is required.
 - Expect to share the updated PAR to the Standards Committee by 14 October 2024 for an offline review and tentative letter ballot.





Any other business?

- None
- The meeting adjourned at 10:53am ET.
- Next meeting: 9:00am ET to 11:00am ET, Tuesday, 17 December 2024



Annex: 2024 Organization Roster

Position	Name	Employed	Affiliation
Acting Chair	Edward Au	Huawei Canada	Self
Vice Chair	Jon Rosdahl	Qualcomm	Qualcomm
Secretary and Treasurer	Vacant		
Members	Dennis Brophy	Siemens EDA	Siemens EDA
	Joe Levy	InterDigital	InterDigital
	Michael Montemurro	Huawei	Huawei
	Annette Reilly	Self	Self
Program Manager (Lead)	Jonathan Goldberg	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Program Manager (Projects)	Soo Kim	IEEE SA	IEEE SA



