

IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Communications Based Train Control and Signals (VT/CBTC&SIG) Standards Committee Date: February 15, 2022 Time: 8:00 AM to 9:00 AM EDT Location: MS Teams

Minutes of the Meeting: APPROVED

1. Call to Order by Chair (Yousef Kimiagar)

- a) Introductions / Declarations of affiliation: the Chair called the attendees for introduction and affiliation.
- b) The Chair announced 17 attendees and 15 voting members out of the total 23 committee voting members present in the meeting.
- c) The Chair called the meeting to order and described the process for voting in the virtual environment.

2. Approval of Agenda

a) The Chair asked for any edits, adjustments to the to the agenda. An error in the date was identified and corrected. The Chair asked for a motion to approve the agenda. There was a suggestion to consider the external communication through updating the website. Ivan Grigorchenkov moved the motion to approve the agenda with the correction. Srinivas Katreddi seconded. Motion carried.

3. Approval of the Minutes of Meeting on 09-Nov-2021

- a) The Chair asked for any comments or correction to the minutes of the meeting on November 9, 2021.
- b) The Chair asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting. Ali Edraki moved the motion and Ivan Grigorchenkov seconded. **Motion carried.**

4. Working Groups Update

a) David Thurston reported that he continues working on preparing the PAR for the new WG for IEEE Standard 1698-2009



INSTITUTION OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONIC ENGINEERS, INC.

- b) The Vice-Chair of the WG#2 provided and update on the status of WG#2 IEEE Standards 1474 Parts 1, 2, 3, 4. The PAR for 1474.1 has been extended to September 2023 and the monthly meetings continue updating parts 1, 2 and 3. He also talked about the webinar that Ivan Grigorchenkov presented about using a tool for modeling the standard.
- c) Ivan Grigorchenkov reported on the interoperability study group and presented the progress to date. The next meeting is March 15. Also a Linkedin group is created to attract those interested in the study group. He continued about the emerging technologies and the possibilities using them in the train control systems. The Chair clarified that UTO is not synonymous to autonomous and these terms are not interchangeable.

5. Proposal for New Work

- a) In the last meeting, Ken Karg mentioned 1483 standard for verification of vital functions processor based systems used in rail systems.
 - Action: Jeff Utterback reported that he is working on finding more details about IEEE 1483 Standards and looking for volunteers to form a working group to review and ratify the standard.
- b) There was a suggestion to consider "IEEE 2839-2021 Recommended Practice for Vital computer for rail safety-related application" in the review.
- c) Pat clarified that IEEE SA does not reaffirm or recertify standards. We need to take revision PAR to update, even if it is updating references.
- d) Arash Aziminejad presented CBTC Cyber Security in support of his request to form a study group. A copy of the slides are attached to the minute of the meeting. The Chair asked for a motion to approve forming the study group and appointing Arash Aziminejad as the Chair of the group. Mehmet Soylemez moved the motion. Srinivas Katreddi moved the motion, Mohsen Shafeie seconded. Motion carried.

6. Date and place of next meeting

- a) Next meeting was agreed to be virtual on May 17th, 2022 at 8:00 am EDT.
- b) Motion moved by Ivan Grigorchenkov to approve the date for the next meeting and was seconded Mehmet Soylemez. **Motion carried.**



7. Adjourn

a) Motion moved by Ivan Grigorchenkov to adjourn the meeting and was seconded Mehmet

Soylemez. **Motion carried.** The meeting adjourned at 8:58am EST

Minutes prepared by Chair CBTC/Signals Standards Committee Yousef.Kimiagar.ca@ieee.org

Working Group Attendees

Last Name	First Name	Company
Andersen	Kurt	Independent Consultant
Aziminejad	Arash	WSP
Bantin	Colin	
Edraki	Ali	Wabtec
Grigorchenkov	Ivan	SNC-Lavalin ATKINS
Katreddi	Srinivas Kumar	WSP
Keevill	Dave	Parsons
Kimiagar	Yousef	IEEE/Hatch
Mok	Hiu Chun	
Rassõlkin	Anton	Tallinn University of Technology
Roder	Patricia	IEEE
Shafeie	Mohsen	Rakjan Technologies
Smith	Jeffrey	Alstom
Soylemez	Mehmet Turan	
Testa	Daniel	Hitachi Rail
Thurston	David	СР
Utterback	Jeff	Battelle