Quantum Benchmarking Working Group P7131

P7131 and Quantum Linkup (topic: open source)

This is the information page for the 1+ hour Quantum Computing Benchmarking Working Group (QCB-WG) P7131 meeting with guest invitations to people in other quantum standards activities (i. e. the Quantum Groups Linkup). The meeting is Tuesday, May 10, 2022 9 AM U. S. Eastern Daylight time via Zoom.

The plan is to have a P7131 business meeting in the first 15 minutes, including determination of quorum, etc. People not part of P7131 can join 15 minutes into the meeting when Silona Bonewald will start a presentation on IEEE SA’s open source capability. You may leave after one hour, but we will keep the Zoom going for up to a second hour for discussion.

This meeting is open to all that are interested. All you need to attend is the Zoom connection information that appears at the bottom of this page. However, we will take attendance in accordance with IEEE-SA’s policies.


9:00 AM EDT: Call to order

9:00 AM EDT: Establish voting membership

9:02 AM EDT: Call for changes to this this draft agenda, followed by approval

9:05 AM EDT: IEEE-SA policies

9:15 AM EDT: Presentation on IEEE SA OPEN by Silona Bonewald. IEEE’s open source capability is based on familiar software products but with a unique governance process that allows it to integrate into standards. For example, quantum standards could include a traditional English document and a reference software implementation hosted by SA OPEN. IEEE’s unique processes would require final reference implementations to be approved by ballot

10:00 AM EDT: Meeting officially adjourns

10:00 AM EDT: Discussion continues

11:00 AM EDT: Must end by this time

This webpage https://sagroups.ieee.org/7131/qcb-wg-qgl-10may22/ is expected to be maintained, so check back


Erik DeBenedictis is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 875 1771 5273
Passcode: 353161
One tap mobile
+13462487799,,87517715273#,,,,*353161# US (Houston)
+16699009128,,87517715273#,,,,*353161# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
        +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
Meeting ID: 875 1771 5273
Passcode: 353161
Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/k98QVcTiR


Minutes (draft)

(a) P7131/QCB-WG

9:00 AM EDT (b) Meeting via Zoom called to order 9 AM EDT (c) Chair Erik DeBenedictis, presiding and writing (these) minutes as secretary.

9:00 AM EDT (d) Establish voting membership (e) It was initially assessed there were not enough members present, but a more careful tally after then meeting revealed that late arrivals resulted in the exact minimum quorum (see attendance list). No votes were needed.

Attendence list:

Abhishek Agarwal, National Physical Laboratory, UK

Jonathan J. Attia, Feynman Foundation

Richard (Dick) Barr, Southern Methodist University

Simon Caton, University College Dublin

Raj Chanian, Capgemini


Shamik Das, The MITRE Corporation

Shouvik Datta, IISER-Pune

Erik DeBenedictis, self

John Devaney, National Physical Laboratory UK

Esam El-Araby, University of Kansas (KU)

Terrill Frantz, Harrisburg University

Joshua Gay, IEEE

Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster

Victoria (Vicky) Hailey, vhg

Jennifer Harding, Quantum Brilliance

Hiroshi Kawamura, Fujitsu ltd.

Bruce Kraemer

Catherine McGeoch, dwavesys.com

Alexandru Paler  

Angie Qarry, Disruptive Innovations

John Spargo, Northrop Grumman

Wen Wei, Fujitsu Limited

9:05 AM EDT Call for changes to agenda: none

9:05 AM EDT(f) Approval of agenda: Motion McGeoch Second Barr pass unanimous consent

9:08 AM EDT Read (g) patent, (h) copyright, participation slide decks

(i) Oops, missed approval of minutes of previous meeting.

9:15 AM EDT (j) Introduce Silona Bonewald, who presented the slide deck below:

“Assignments” (k):

Cathy to send template for benchmark to Erik; Erik to forward to QCB-WG; WG email reflector to be used to assemble first cut at a list of benchmarks

Initial group for assembling a list of benchmarks and possible some speakers at meeting: Erik DeBenedictis, Vladimir Getov, Angie Qarry, Dick Barr, Cathy McGeoch

(l) There was no executive session.

9:59 AM EDT (m) Motion to end meeting: Motion Barr Second McGeoch pass unanimous consent

10:20 AM EDT End of informal discussion

(n) The next meeting will be scheduled by email, Doodle, etc. (but there was no discussion here).