IEEE Learning Technology Standards Committee (LTSC)

The Learning Technology Standards Committee (LTSC) follows an open and transparent formal standards development process and fully supports the IEEE’s sponsorship of the OpenStand Initiative. We coordinate with other organizations, both formally and informally, that produce specifications and standards for learning technologies. We welcome new members who can volunteer their time and expertise to help understand and solve product interoperability issues caused by the rapid advance of new learning technologies. Please contact the LTSC Secretary or a relevant Work Group Chair if you are interested in participating.

Active Working Groups
Industry Consortium on Learning Engineering (IEEE ICICLE)

LTSC Officers

  • Chair – Jim Goodell
  • Vice Chair – Andy Johnson
  • Secretary – Abul Azad
  • Treasurer – Shelly Blake-Plock
  • Industry Liaison – Jennifer Rogers
  • ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 36 Liaison – Eric Shepherd

To contact the officers, please email: [email protected]

New Free Resource:

White Paper – Concepts for Classification of Adaptive Instructional Systems

This white paper gives a brief introduction to conceptual classification of high-level functional components of adaptive instructional systems identified by the project group, and a proposed model for classifying AISs based on levels of adaptivity. It is offered as a frame for current and future standards development, baseline concepts to facilitate dialog across AIS standards projects.