DySPAN Standards Committee (DySPAN-SC)

Title: IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee

Scope: The Sponsor develops standards related to spectrum sharing and dynamic spectrum access networks or cognitive technologies applied to wireless radios, networks, and spectrum dependent systems. The focus is on improved use of spectrum. Topics in scope include (but are not limited to) access techniques, techniques to control interference, networking, network services, and network management particularly as they relate to wireless networks.

How to Participate?

If you wish to participate in the work of this IEEE Standards Committee, please follow these steps:

1. Go to: http://development.standards.ieee.org,
2. Log in with your IEEE user name and password, making sure “myProject” is selected in the drop-down box,
3. Click “Manage Activity Profile”,
4. Click the “+” next to “IEEE Communications Society”,
5. Click the check box next to “Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee”,
6. Click “CONTINUE”,
7. Enter your affiliation,
8. Confirm the prompt on the next page.

Please also email Oliver Holland, Stephen Berger, and Alex Lackpour to inform that you have done this. The “Subject” field of your email should be “Joined DySPAN-SC”.

After following these steps, you will be added to the mailing list and will be kept updated on future meetings, and other activities.

Call for Proposals

The IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee (DySPAN-SC) is seeking proposals for standards projects in the areas of dynamic spectrum access, cognitive radio, interference management, coordination of wireless systems, advanced spectrum management, and policy languages for next generation radio systems. DySPAN-SC is particularly interested in ideas that could be implemented in commercial products in the near to medium term.


The IEEE P1900 Standards Committee, DySPAN-SC’s predecessor, was established in the first quarter 2005 jointly by the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) and the IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Society. The objective of the effort was to develop supporting standards dealing with new technologies and techniques being developed for next generation radio and advanced spectrum management.

On 22 March 2007, the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board approved the reorganization of the IEEE 1900 effort as Standards Coordinating Committee 41 (SCC41), “Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks (DySPAN)”. The IEEE Communications Society and EMC Society were supporting societies for this effort, as they were for the IEEE 1900 effort.

IEEE SCC41 was approached by the IEEE ComSoc Standards Board (CSSB) in late 2010, as ComSoc Standards Board was extremely interested in SCC41 being brought back directly under its wing. SCC41 voted to be directly answerable to ComSoc in December 2010, and was thereby renamed as IEEE DySPAN-SC. At its December 2010 Meeting, the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board (SASB) approved the transfer of projects from SCC41 to CSSB.


The scope of the DySPAN-SC includes the following:

  • Dynamic spectrum access radio systems and networks with the focus on improved use of spectrum,
  • New techniques and methods of dynamic spectrum access including the management of radio transmission interference, and
  • Coordination of wireless technologies including network management and information sharing amongst networks deploying different wireless technologies.

Additional Information

  • Responsibilities of IEEE DySPAN-SC
  • H. Harada, Y. Alemseged, S. Filin, M. Riegel, M. Gundlach, O. Holland, B. Bochow, M. Ariyoshi, L. Grande, “The IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee (DySPAN-SC) and IEEE 1900 Working Groups”, IEEE Communications Magazine, Vol. 51, No. 3, March 2013, pp. 104-111
  • O. Holland, et al., “IEEE Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks Standards Committee”, chapter within O. Holland, H. Bogucka, A. Medeisis, Opportunistic Spectrum Sharing and White Space Access: The Practical Reality, John Wiley and Sons, 2015
  • S. Filin, H. Harada, “IEEE DySPAN-SC activities on standardization of white space radio systems,” IEEE ICC 2012, Ottawa, ON, Canada, June 2012
  • L. Grande, M. Sherman, H. Zhu, M. Kokar, J. Stine, “IEEE DySPAN 1900.5 Efforts to Support Spectrum Access Standardization”, IEEE MILCOM 2013, San Diego, CA, USA, November 2013
  • J. Stine, C. Caicedo Bastidas, “Enabling Spectrum Sharing via Spectrum Consumption Models”, IEEE JSAC, Vol 33, No. 4, January 2015, pp. 725-735
  • C. Caicedo Bastidas, J. Stine, A. Rennier, M. Sherman, A. Lackpour, M. Kokar, R. Schrage, “IEEE 1900.5.2: Standard Method for Modeling Spectrum Consumption: Introduction and Use Cases”, IEEE Communications Standards Magazine, Vol. 2, No. 4, December 2018, pp. 49-55
  • O. Holland, B. Bochow, K. Katzis, “IEEE 1900.6b: Sensing Support for Spectrum Databases”, IEEE CSCN 2015, Tokyo, Japan, October 2015
  • B. Bochow, O. Holland, K. Katzis, “Spectrum Sensing Infrastructure Support for IEEE 1900.6b Sensing-Assisted Spectrum Databases”, IEEE CSCN 2016, Berlin, Germany, November 2016
  • S.Buljore, H.Harada, S.Filin, P.Houze, K.Tsagkaris, O.Holland, T.Farnham, K.Nolte and V.Ivanov, “An Architecture and Enablers for Optimized Radio Resource usage: The IEEE P1900.4 Working Group”, IEEE Communications Magazine, vol. 47, no. 1, pp. 122-129, Jan. 2009 (Copyright IEEE): An article providing a summary of the activities of 1900.4 working group


Oliver Holland

Stephen Berger


Alex Lackpour
IEEE DySPAN-SC Secretary

Lynn Grande
IEEE DySPAN-SC Treasurer

Working Group Contacts

Francesco Benedetto
IEEE 1900.1 Working Group Chair

Stephen Berger
IEEE 1900.2 Working Group Chair

Masayuki Ariyoshi
IEEE 1900.4 Working Group Chair

Tony Rennier
IEEE 1900.5 Working Group Chair

Oliver Holland
IEEE 1900.6 Working Group Chair

Apurva Mody
IEEE 1900.7 Working Group Acting Chair

Alex Lackpour
IEEE 1900.8 Working Group Chair

WG Officers

Oliver Holland

Stephen Berger

Alex Lackpour

Lynn Grande

Program Manager
Jennifer Santulli